Twitter Tumblr FlickrFacebookContact me
This Month Previous Articles Author Title Source Age Genre Series Format Inclusivity LGBTA Portfolio

Recent posts

Month in review

Reviews
Altered Realities by Alfred Bester
Angus and the Ducks
by Marjorie Flack
Batman: Year One by Frank Miller and David Mazzucchelli
Battlestar Galactica by Jeffrey A. Carver
Bhangra Babes by Narinder Dhami
The Big Rock Candy Mountain by Wallace Stegner
Bone: Ghost Circles by Jeff Smith
Bone: Treasure Hunters by Jeff Smith
Coast to Coast by Catherine Donzel
Crazy Hair by Neil Gaiman
The Devil's Arthmetic by Jane Yolen
The Dyodyne Experiment by James Doulgeris and V. Michael Santoro
The Emergence of Maps in Libraries by Walter William Ristow
Finding Marco by Kenneth C. Cancellara
The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo by Stieg Larsson
The Klondike Cat by Julie Lawson
Lavinia by Ursula K. Le Guin
The Little Rascals by Leonard Maltin
The Little Stranger by Sarah Waters
Monsoon Summer by Mitali Perkins
More Flanimals by Ricky Gervais
Mr McGratt and the Ornery Cat by Marilyn Helmer
My Guy by Sarah Weeks
Pass It Down by Leonard S. Marcus
Pure by Terra Elan McVoy
The Quest for Merlin's Map (The Jumper Chronicles) by W. C. Peever
Pure by Terra Elan McVoy
Room on the Broom by Julia Donaldson
Somewhere Off the Coast of Maine by Ann Hood
Texas Tomboy by Lois Lenski
Thief of Shadows by Fred Chappell
Wildfire by Sarah Micklem

Misc Thoughts:
In Search of Manning Coles


Rating System

5 stars: Completely enjoyable or compelling
4 stars: Good but flawed
3 stars: Average
2 stars: OK
1 star: Did not finish

Reading Challenges

My Kind of Mystery Reading Challenge 2017 February - January 2017-8



Comments for The Dyodyne Experiment

The Dyodyne Experiment: 10/13/10

 cover art (Link goes to Powells)The Dyodyne Experiment by James Doulgeris and V Michael Santoro is an international medical thriller in the vein of Michael Crichton or Robin Cook. A biotech firm has developed a way to track a person by his own DNA, nano transmitters and cell phone technology. The Department of Homeland Security needs their invention to track down terrorists intent on destroying several U.S. cities.

I liked the set up and the basic plotting. It as another review mentioned, would make a great movie. Unfortunately the version I read suffered from too many editing gaffs. The errors got in the way of my ability to lose myself in the plot. The one that bugged me the most was BETA test for beta test. It isn't an acronym. It's a step in a software development cycle.

My other complaint is one with the genre and isn't specifically aimed at The Dyodyne Experiment. I'm tired of super short scenes that jump between all the players (or potential players) in the novel. I'm tried of getting first hand knowledge of what the terrorists are planning because their plans always sound stupid. They are so typically cookie cutter stereotypes that anything they say or think is laughable. I wish these books would stick with one side because my imagination is better at inventing an antagonist's motivations. Surprise and mystery seems to be dead in the international thriller.

Other posts and reviews:

| | | |

Comments (0)


Name:
Email (won't be posted):
Blog URL:
Comment: