Twitter Tumblr FlickrFacebookContact me
This Month Previous Articles Author Title Source Age Genre Series Format Inclusivity LGBTA Portfolio

Recent posts

Month in review

Reviews
0.4 by Mike Lancaster
13 Little Blue Envelopes by Maureen Johnson
Blind Spot by Rick Wilber and Nick DiChario
The Brisket Book by Stephanie Pierson
Dog Days by Dave Ihlenfeld
The Exterminator's Want Ad by Bruce Sterling
Extra Virginity by Tom Mueller
Finish Line by James Ross
From Cover to Cover by Kathleen T. Horning
Home of the Brave by Allen Say
Huntington, West Virgina "On the Fly" by Harvey Pekar
Libyrinth by Pearl North
Little White Rabbit by Kevin Henkes
The Long Goodbye by Raymond Chandler
Moon Ball by Jane Yolen
Mortal Love by Elizabeth Hand
My Mixed-Up Berry Blue Summer by Jennifer Gennari
The Not-So-Star-Spangled Life of Sunita Sen by Mitali Perkins
Opur's Blade by James Ross
Red Glove by Holly Black
A Red Herring Without Mustard by Alan Bradley
Red Sings from Treetops by Joyce Sidman
Restoring Harmony by Joëlle Anthony
Robopocalypse (audio) by Daniel H. Wilson
Roller Skates by Ruth Sawyer
Shadow by Suzy Lee
Spectra by Joanne Elder
Tall Blondes by Lynn Sherr
The Water Wars by Cameron Stracher
The Wayside School Collection (audio) by Louis Sachar
The Wrong House by Stephen Jacobs

What Am I Reading
March 05, 2012
March 12, 2012
March 19, 2012
March 26, 2012

Previous month

Rating System

5 stars: Completely enjoyable or compelling
4 stars: Good but flawed
3 stars: Average
2 stars: OK
1 star: Did not finish

Reading Challenges

My Kind of Mystery Reading Challenge 2017 February - January 2017-8



0.4: 03/04/12

cover art

0.4 (or Human.4 in the United States) by Mike Lancaster, is a middle grade science fiction horror in the tradition of John Wyndam and John Christopher. This is a debut novel that I hope is taught in schools in the near future.

Through transcripts of audio tapes with commentary from some future perspective, Kyle Straker outlines how his life and the lives of three other villagers were forever changed. They were volunteers for a talent show hypnotism trick. When they came out of their trance, everyone else had changed.

The how and the why of the change is the rest of the book. It's frightening and eye opening. Though a short book, Lancaster uses his words efficiently and effectively.

Often it seems that books like this where people are taken over or there's an invasion or a mass disappearance, the reason behind the change is never revealed. 0.4 breaks with that tradition. Kyle and the others do learn the reason behind the change.

The book is a short, it's a compelling read. Though 0.4 lacks anything in the way of violence or crude language, it does share some thematic ties with the much longer and adult oriented Robopacalypse (review coming). If you enjoyed Wilson's novel and are looking for a light but similar read, give 0.4 a go.

Five stars

Comments (0)


Name:
Email (won't be posted):
Blog URL:
Comment:




Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...