Twitter Tumblr FlickrFacebookContact me
Now Previous Articles Road Essays Author Title Source Age Genre Series Format Inclusivity LGBTA Portfolio

Recent posts


Month in review

Reviews
ABC Book by CB Falls
Also Known as Rowan Pohi by Ralph Fletcher
Annie on my Mind by Nancy Garden
Blackout by Connie Willis
The Blessing Way (audio) by Tony Hillerman
Chicka Chicka Boom Boom by Bill Martin Jr and John Archambault
Comets, Stars, the Moon and Mars by Douglas Florian
Dying for Chocolate (audio) by Diane Mott Davidson
From a Changeling Star by Jeffrey A. Carver
Gemini Bites by Patrick Ryan
If Rocks Could Sing by Leslie McGuirk
Imagine a Night by Sarah L. Thomson and Rob Gonsalves
Introduction to Joyous Cooking 200th Anniversary Edition by Heather Lindsey
Keeping You a Secret by Julie Anne Peters
The Lost Hero by Rick Riordan
Mark Tidd in the Backwoods by Clarence Budington Kelland
Mio, My Son by Astrid Lindgren
Monkey Food by Ellen Forney
The Monster Princess by DJ MacHale
Navajo ABC by Lucy Tapahonso
The Night Fairy by Laura Amy Schlitz
One Boy by Laura Vaccaro Seeger
Perfect Square by Michael Hall
The Road to Oz by Kathleen Krull
Snowmen at Night by Caralyn Buehner
Thirteen by Remy Charlip
Tips on Having a Gay (Ex) Boyfriend by Carrie Jones
Twin Spica 05 by Kou Yaginuma
The Window of Time by Richard Matheson
The Z Was Zapped by Chris Van Allsburg

Other Stuff
Canadian Book Challenge 6
Twenty-Five Years of Reading

Previous month

Rating System

5 stars: Completely enjoyable or compelling
4 stars: Good but flawed
3 stars: Average
2 stars: OK
1 star: Did not finish

Reading Challenges

My Kind of Mystery Reading Challenge 2017 February - January 2017-8



Thirteen 06/19/12

cover art

If I had to point to one early childhood favorite who sparked a passion for books, art and poetry, the answer is easy: Remy Charlip. The other day I stumbled upon one of the books from my childhood that I had somehow missed, Thirteen by Remy Charlip and illustrated by Jerry Joyner.

Thirteen is thirteen stories told in one hundred and sixty-nine pictures. There are some with words but mostly it's just pictures. The stories are related but how they relates takes a page or so to figure out. It's one to read forwards and backwards as everything clicks into place.

The artwork is in the style of Arm in Arm, my all time favorite Charlip book. The soft pastel shapes blend and mix and change from one thing to another, while others tell apparently straightforward silent stories. One is just a two word comic of the prince endlessly trying on the remaining slipper as the woman replies, "Doesn't fit." All these things come to conclusions that either require a leap of faith or a sense of humor.

Fans of David Wiesner or Brian Selznick should check out Remy Charlip's books.

Five stars

Comments (2)


Name:
Email (won't be posted):
Blog URL:
Comment:


Comment #1: Tuesday, June 19, 2012 at 19:00:14

Deb Nance at Readerbuzz

I remember seeing this name but I have never read one of her (his?) books. Thanks for the recommendation. I just requested one from the library.



Comment #2: Wednesday, June 20, 2012 at 12:01:30

Pussreboots

His books. He's a children's book author and a choreographer. He lives in San Francisco. You can learn more here.