Now 2024 Previous Articles Road Essays Road Reviews Author Black Authors Title Source Age Genre Series Format Inclusivity LGBTA+ Artwork WIP

Recent posts

Month in review

All Together Now by Hope Larson
The Ash Family by Molly Dektar
Batman: The Smile Killer by Jeff Lemire The Black Kids by Christina Hammonds Reed
Cat Me If You Can by Miranda James
Death and Daisies by Amanda Flower
Displacement by Kiku Hughes
Dough or Die by Winnie Archer
Flowers and Foul Play by Amanda Flower
The Game Masters of Garden Place by Denis Markell
Grown by Tiffany D. Jackson
Halfbreed by Maria Campbell
How to Catch a Star by Oliver Jeffers
Incendiary by Zoraida Córdova
The Invisible Boy by Alyssa Hollingsworth
Joker: Killer Smile by Jeff Lemire
Julia's House Moves On by Ben Hatke
Mighty Jack by Ben Hatke
Natalie Tan's Book of Luck and Fortune by Roselle Lim
Red, White & Royal Blue by Casey McQuiston
Saving Winslow by Sharon Creech
Something to Say by Lisa Moore Ramée
Steeple by John Allison
Teen Titans: Beast Boy by Kami Garcia
Ten Ways to Hear Snow by Cathy Camper and Kenard Pak
The Third Mushroom by Jennifer L. Holm
This Is All Your Fault by Aminah Mae Safi
The Vanderbeekers Lost and Found by Karina Yan Glaser
The Voting Booth by Brandy Colbert
Wayward Witch by Zoraida Córdova
A Wizard's Guide to Defensive Baking by T. Kingfisher

September 2020 Sources

September 2020 Summary

Previous month

Rating System

5 stars: Completely enjoyable or compelling
4 stars: Good but flawed
3 stars: Average
2 stars: OK
1 star: Did not finish

Reading Challenges

Beat the Backlist 2024

Ozathon: 12/2023-01/2025

Canadian Book Challenge: 2023-2024

Chicken Prints
Paintings and Postcards

Privacy policy

This blog does not collect personal data. It doesn't set cookies. Email addresses are used to respond to comments or "contact us" messages and then deleted.

Flowers and Foul Play: 10/07/20

Flowers and Foul Play

Flowers and Foul Play by Amanda Flower and Eilidh Beaton (narrator) is the first book in the Magic Garden mystery series. Fiona Knox has come to Duncreigan to inherit her godfather's cottage and garden. She's shocked to find his solicitor dead in the heart of the garden and even more so to be accused of his murder!

While Fiona is trying to get over her jet lag, she's also contending with a close-knit village who sees her as an interloper. Meanwhile, she needs to learn who she can trust and what's expected of her as the Duncreigan heir.

As with her Magical Bookshop series, there's a magical element to this series. Here it's wrapped up in the legend of the first resident of Duncreigan and how he was saved from drowning at sea. He promised to stay away from the sea and in return was given a safe place to live with a magical garden that thrives even in the worst of winters. Now it appears that Fiona has that same connection with the garden.

One big difference here that the garden doesn't take an active role in helping Fiona solve the murder. Her connection to the garden is a separate thing but still a nice element to this series.

Fiona is originally from Kentucky but has spent many summers in Scotland. She's not ignorant of the place she's calling her new home. As I'm listening to the series in audiobook, the narrator has a ton of work to do. Eilidh Beaton does a fantastic job moving between characters and accents.

Four stars

Comments (0)

Lab puppy
Email (won't be posted):
Blog URL:

Twitter Tumblr Mastadon Flickr Facebook Facebook Contact me

1997-2024 Sarah Sammis