Now 2021 Previous Articles Road Essays Road Reviews Author Black Authors Title Source Age Genre Series Format Inclusivity LGBTA Portfolio Artwork WIP

Recent posts


Month in review

Reviews
Bloom by Kenneth Oppel and Sophie Amos (Narrator)
Bran New Death by Victoria Hamilton and Margaret Strom (Narrator)
Cemetery Boys by Aiden Thomas
Charming as a Verb by Ben Philippe
Cleopatra in Space: Queen of the Nile by Mike Maihack
The Cruelest Month by Louise Penny
A Death Long Overdue by Eva Gates and Elise Arsenault (Narrator)
Don't Date Rosa Santos by Nina Moreno
Giant Days, Volume 14 by John Allison Giant Days, Volume 14 by John Allison
The Girl and the Ghost by Hanna Alka
The Golden State by Lydia Kiesling
Handbook for Homicide by Lorna Barrett and Cassandra Campbell (narrator)
Hey, Kiddo by Jarrett J. Krosoczka
I'm Not Dying with You Tonight by Kimberly Jones and Gilly Segal
Kazu Jones and the Denver Dognappers by Shauna Holyoak
Love, Jacaranda by Alex Flinn
A Man Lay Dead by Ngaio Marsh
Mimi Lee Reads Between the Lines by Jennifer J. Chow
Ms. Koizumi Loves Ramen Noodles Volume 1 by Naru Narumi
The Princess in Black and the Bathtime Battle by Shannon Hale and LeUyen Pham
Raven Black by Ann Cleeves and Gordon Griffin (narrator)
Rent a Boyfriend by Gloria Chao
Restaurant to Another World Volume 2 by Junpei Inuzuka and Katsumi Enami (Illustrations)
The Ripple Effect by Malorie Blackman
The Santaroga Barrier by Frank Herbert
The Sea Fairies by L. Frank Baum
Shadowspell by Jenna Black
Sister of My Heart by Chitra Banerjee Divakaruni
Solutions and Other Problems by Allie Brosh
The Wall and the Wing by Laura Ruby
Wanderers by Chuck Wendig

Miscellaneous
November 2020 Sources

November 2020 Summary

Previous month



Rating System

5 stars: Completely enjoyable or compelling
4 stars: Good but flawed
3 stars: Average
2 stars: OK
1 star: Did not finish

Reading Challenges

Canadian Book Challenge: 2021-2022

Beat the Backlist 2021



Privacy policy

This blog does not collect personal data. It doesn't set cookies. Email addresses are used to respond to comments or "contact us" messages and then deleted.


Love, Jacaranda: 12/19/20

Love, Jacaranda

Love, Jacaranda by Alex Flinn took me by surprise. I saw the audiobook when I was looking for something new to read. I liked the title and the pretty cover. I bought it without even reading the blurb. My ears perked up though with the opening quote from Daddy-Long-Legs by Jean Webster (1912). As the original epistolary is one of my favorite books, I settled in for a very delightful read.

This novel is a contemporary retelling that reframes Judy, now Jacaranda's situation from being an orphan to being a foster child whose mother is in prison. Jervys is now Jarvis and is only a year older than Jacaranda, who calls herself Jackie at her new school. This time she's discovered through a viral video where she sings a grocery store jingle while bagging groceries.

Jackie's letters to "Mr. Smith" provide biting criticisms of life among the one percent as well as the added stress of constantly having to rebrand herself. Jackie spends the first half of the book, roughly the first half of the school year, learning how to live as if she's had the same opportunities as the majority of her classmates while constantly playing catch up.

Love, Jacaranda is a good follow up read for fans of Drum Roll, Please by Lisa Jenn Bigelow (2018) and Withering Tights by Louise Rennison (2013).

Five stars

Comments (0)


Lab puppy
Name:
Email (won't be posted):
Blog URL:
Comment:

Twitter Tumblr Flickr Facebook Facebook Contact me

1997-2021 Sarah Sammis