Now 2023 Previous Articles Road Essays Road Reviews Author Black Authors Title Source Age Genre Series Format Inclusivity LGBTA Portfolio Artwork WIP

Recent posts

Month in review

Ascender, Volume 3: The Digital Mage by Jeff Lemire and Dustin Nguyen Audubon Cat by Mary Calhoun and Susan Bonners
The Canyon's Edge by Dusti Bowling
Concrete Rose by Angie Thomas
A Curious Incident by Vicki Delany
Delicious in Dungeon, Volume 7 by Ryoko Kui
Delivery to the Lost City by P.G. Bell Hatch by Kenneth Oppel and Sophie Amoss (Narrator)
The Library of Lost and Found by Phaedra Patrick
Made You Look by Diane Roberts
Moriarty the Patriot, Volume 1 by Ryōsuke Takeuchi and Hikaru Miyoshi
Muffin But Murder by Victoria Hamilton
Muted by Tami Charles
The Mystery of the Haunted Cottage by Derek Landy
The Nickel Boys by Colson Whitehead
The 117-Storey Treehouse by Andy Griffiths and Terry Denton
One Poison Pie by Lynn Cahoon
Santa's Husband by Daniel Kibblesmith and A.P. Quach
The Scarecrow of Oz by L. Frank Baum
Speculative Los Angeles edited by Denise Hamilton
Spells and Scones by Bailey Cates and Amy Rubinate (Narrator)
Sprinkle with Murder by Jenn McKinlay
Stuck on Murder by Lucy Lawrence
Sunny Rolls the Dice by Jennifer L. Holm and Matthew Holm
Thirteen Doorways, Wolves Behind Them All by Laura Ruby
This Spell Can't Last by Isabel Sterling
We Could Be Heroes by Mike Chen
White Nights by Ann Cleeves

January 2021 Sources

January 2021 Summary

Previous month

Rating System

5 stars: Completely enjoyable or compelling
4 stars: Good but flawed
3 stars: Average
2 stars: OK
1 star: Did not finish

Reading Challenges

Canadian Book Challenge: 2023-2024

Beat the Backlist 2023

Chicken Art

Privacy policy

This blog does not collect personal data. It doesn't set cookies. Email addresses are used to respond to comments or "contact us" messages and then deleted.

One Poison Pie: 02/13/21

One Poison Pie

One Poison Pie by Lynn Cahoon is the first full length book in the Kitchen Witch mystery series. Last year a novella, Chili Cauldron Curse was released in ebook and audiobook formats. I haven't read the novella yet; this book does a good job setting up the series and introducing the town and characters.

Mia Malone has moved to her grandmother's quirky town of Magic Falls, Idaho. It's near real world Sun Valley. Mia and her grandmother are kitchen witches — similar in intention to the brujas in the middle grade series, Love, Sugar, Magic by Anna Meriano. They aren't though the only witches in the village. There's an active coven and Mia will meet members of it.

Mia and her ex-boyfriend's sister are busy converting an old school into a catering event site. In the meantime they're catering off site. Their first big event ends up not happening because the host is murdered.

What keeps this mystery interesting is the inclusion of three plots. First is the murder mystery. Second there is Mia's on going feud with her ex and his desire to steal her recipes. Finally there is a so-called heir to the estate of the murdered woman.

With the inclusion of another obvious conman, I was expecting things to unfold in a similar fashion to Muffin But Murder by Victoria Hamilton (2014). Happily there's enough other things going on for the plots to diverge.

The second full length mystery is Two Wicked Desserts. It releases on July 27, 2021. In the meantime, there's a second novella, Murder 101 which releases on April 27th, 2021 in ebook format.

Two stars

Comments (0)

Lab puppy
Email (won't be posted):
Blog URL:

Twitter Tumblr Mastadon Flickr Facebook Facebook Contact me

1997-2023 Sarah Sammis